Does tequila need to be made in Mexico to be called tequila?

Does all tequila have to be made in Mexico?

Tequila is made exclusively from “Agave tequilana Weber blue variety”. To be called tequila, it must be produced in Mexico, specifically in the places that its DOT indicates: all the municipalities of the state of Jalisco, in addition to certain regions of Nayarit, Michoacán, Guanajuato and Tamaulipas.

What is required to be called tequila?

Tequila is recognized as a Mexican designation of origin product in more than 40 countries. … Tequila must have between 35 and 55 percent alcohol content (70 and 110 U.S. proof). It must contain at least 40 percent alcohol (80 U.S. proof) to be sold in the United States and Canada.

What tequilas are not from Mexico?

Outside of Mexico Tequila and Mezcal are known as Agava in South Africa. Agava was also available in bottled form. Agave Distillers claimed to be moving between 12,000 and 15,000 cases a month at its peak. The bottled form has been sold in the LCBO, in Canada.

Can tequila be made in the United States?

Over the last several years a handful of distilleries have begun releasing agave spirits made stateside, in America. The resulting juice can’t be called tequila for legal reasons, much like blue agave spirits made in Mexico outside the designated region.

THIS IS AMAZING:  How much does it cost to bring a dead body home from Mexico?

Is tequila made anywhere other than Mexico?

Tequila is only produced inside the Mexican state of Jalisco and in some municipalities in Guanajuato, Michoacan, Nayarit, and Tamaulipas. Any agave-based distilled spirit outside those regions are called “mezcal.” Other subtypes of mezcal you might see are Bacanora, Sotol and Raicilla.

Is tequila a registered trademark?

But did you know the word “Tequila” is now a registered trademark? Indeed, on June 20, 2017, after a near 14-year battle, the USPTO registered TEQUILA as a certification mark for “distilled spirits, namely, spirits distilled from the blue tequilana weber variety of agave plant.”

What are the 3 types of tequila?

There are three main types of tequila—blanco, reposado, and añejo—with two additional variations.

  • Tequila Blanco. …
  • Tequila Joven. …
  • Tequila Reposado. …
  • Tequila Añejo. …
  • Extra Añejo.

Why is tequila called tequila?

Tequila comes from agave, which is also commonly referred to as mescal. There are over 200 kinds of agaves. … So the city of Tequila gave the name to the drink. It gave the specific name to the mezcal wine of Tequila.

Where is Jose Cuervo made?


Specifically, the central Mexican town of Tequila in the state of Jalisco.

Which tequilas are owned by Mexicans?

13 Mexican-Owned Tequila Brands To Spend Your Money On

  • Sotol Hacienda de Chihuahua.
  • Tequila Moderno.
  • Tequila San Matias.
  • Tequila Pueblo Viejo.
  • Tequila La Malinche.
  • Tequila Espinoza.
  • Tequila Don Sueños.
  • Tequila 29 Two Nine.