Frequent question: Who became governor in New Mexico in 1918?

Who was the governor of New Mexico?

Who was New Mexico’s first state governor?

William C. McDonald, the first governor, took office on January 6, 1912. The current officeholder is Michelle Lujan Grisham, who took office on January 1, 2019, as the first elected female Democratic governor of the state.

What happened to the first American governor of NM?

On January 19, 1847, Bent was scalped and killed by Pueblo warriors, during the Taos Revolt.

What was the overall end result of the Mexican War of 1846 1848?

The war officially ended with the February 2, 1848, signing in Mexico of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo. The treaty added an additional 525,000 square miles to United States territory, including the land that makes up all or parts of present-day Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

What happened to Mexico after the Mexican American War?

By its terms, Mexico ceded 55 percent of its territory, including parts of present-day Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas, Colorado, Nevada, and Utah, to the United States. Mexico relinquished all claims to Texas, and recognized the Rio Grande as the southern boundary with the United States.

THIS IS AMAZING:  Is Cancun or Dominican Republic cheaper?

What is New Mexico’s state motto?

Seal of New Mexico

Great Seal of the State of New Mexico
Armiger State of New Mexico
Adopted 1913
Motto Crescit Eundo (It grows as it goes)

Who was governor in 1991?

List of Governors of the Reserve Bank of India

No. Officeholder Term start
18 S. Venkitaramanan 22 December 1990
19 C. Rangarajan 22 December 1992
20 Bimal Jalan 22 November 1997
21 Y. Venugopal Reddy 6 September 2003

Who was the first female governor of New Mexico?

Susana Martinez (born July 14, 1959) is an American politician and attorney who served as the 31st governor of New Mexico from 2011 to 2019.

Susana Martinez
Personal details
Born July 14, 1959 El Paso, Texas, U.S.
Political party Republican (1995–present)
Other political affiliations Democratic (before 1995)